2016 Favourite Books

As I mentioned in my goals post I managed to finish 21 books in the year 2016. Although, there were a couple which I found a drag to read in general the books were interesting and they brought enjoyment into my daily life. I thought, I should mention my favourite ones to you if any of them would inspire you to read as well.

Favourite books of 2016 - byLiiL

I know Why The Caged Birds Fly – Maya Angelou

The first autobiography by Maya Angelou, where she tells the story of her childhood from a southern American state. How she was raised by her grandmother, how she missed and adored her mother, her relationship with her brother and how she found the world around her. Although, depressing at times, mostly I found the book intriguing and easy to read. It definitely made me want to read more of her books.

#Girlboss – Sophia Amoruso

I am sure everybody knows what this book is about. Half-motivation half autobiography I loved reading about Sophia’s life and how she came about creating such a successful fashion company. I was so motivated to do and work for my goals that I had problems sleeping. I am sure this won’t happen to many people, so those of you who are looking to be inspired with their goals I recommend this book.

Favourite books of 2016 - byLiiL

Silkworm – Robert Galbraith

Is the second book in the Cormoran Strike crime novels by J.K. Rowling pseudonym Robert Galbraith. I loved the first book, mainly because I love a good crime novel and because I love the way J.K. Rowling writes. She can really hold the reader in suspense and make a great twist in the end. Cormoran Strike novels are long, but they don’t feel that way. I read it in just a couple of days. Gruesome murder and a mystery to solve. So if you like J.K. Rowlings writing and crime novels I definitely recommend this one!

How To Make Friends and Influence People – Dale Carnegie

This book was recommended by one of my favourite bloggers so I decided to try it out. It is a self-help book, but the reason I liked it was the stories behind every ‘lesson’. Where Dale writes about what rules you should follow when conducting yourself with new people who you would like to make a good impression on, he writes with examples set by real people, mostly great previous leaders. While reading you think how each rule is kind of obvious, but it is he examples and the stories that really make you remember how you should conduct yourself in public. Definitely a good read!  I think this book would be of assistance to everybody. It is not a book about making close friendships, but really about how you should be thinking when communicating with other people so that they will want to hear more from you.

Favourite books of 2016 - byLiiL

Overdressed – Elizabeth L. Cline

I’ve told you about this book. It tells about the problems of fast-fashion to this world and especially to the people. If you want to read more of my thoughts on it, check out this post. Again, I think everybody should read this book. Not, because it is enjoyable, I mean it really is not, but because you will understand more about what you are buying.

Schoking Life Of Elsa Schiaparelli

This I have told you about as well. The autobiography of Elsa Schiaparelli is not for fashion lovers only, but for those who want to read about a strong woman, who made a business success, who lived through the war and who seems to be in her own world. She has a unique view on how to do business and really, she is quite an inspiration to read as well!

Favourite books of 2016 - byLiiL

The Handmaid’s Tale – Margaret Atwood

I do not understand how it took me such a long time to read this book. It could be that I wouldn’t have understood the message before, or maybe it would have opened my eyes much earlier. I don’t know. However, I think this was my favourite book of the year. It seemed absolutely surreal, it kept me guessing and wanting to read more and in the end, I was completely surprised. If I only remember one book from the year 2016, it is this. And it has inspired me to read more of Atwood’s books! Now I can’t wait until the tv-show will come out!

 

What books where your favourite last year?

With love,

Lii

Leave a Reply

