How to make your Goals stick?

When I first started making goals I just came up with things that I wanted to happen without another thought about them and it was not a surprise that they did not happen. It wasn’t until I really really wanted something that I made it into a goal (without realising) and started working hard towards it. Now 6 years later most of my goals I have actually achieved. How I did it? With these simple steps.

How to make goals - byLiiL

Think what you want from life.

I call these the ultimate goals or life goals. Is it travelling, owning your own house, a person who loves you, getting high grades? Write them down. They might seem impossible now, but writing them down is the first step towards making it happen.

What you would need to do to make that happen.

Do you need to earn money? Do you need to educate yourself in some way or maybe become more social? Write these down under your life goals. There can be more than one step to each life goal, actually, there can be many steps. Don’t let this frighten you or depress you.

How to make goals - byLiiL

How long?

Now with each of these steps decide how long will it take you to achieve that or how long you will give yourself time to achieve it. Are there more steps within these steps that you need to take to achieve them? Write them down.

That is how you make goals. You make something that seems so far out of reach reachable by making small steps to attain them. Each step you can make into a goal. However, for the goal to stick you need to have a time period in which you want to achieve it and write it down specifically.  If your goal is ‘read more books’ it doesn’t really determine how many books you want to read and it will not make you push towards that goal. Instead ‘read 15 books in the year 2017’ will actually make you push towards that goal.

Happy 2017 Goals- byLiiL

Rewards

Although, I think reaching a goal feels rewarding in itself I do sometimes set a reward to reach a certain goal. Such as ‘I can order 3 more books ones I’ve read the 25 books’. It helps you push towards that goal when you really don’t feel like it.

When you break your life goals into steps it makes it much more achievable and more in your control. It also helps you to track how far away from your goals you are. Goals help you feel the sense of achievement and I find they help me feel satisfied with my life and a sense of purpose.

 

Happy Goal making! Do you have any additional suggestions on how to make goals?

With love,

Lii

2 thoughts on “How to make your Goals stick?

Leave a Reply

