The Two Sustainable Documentaries to watch

I find it sometimes difficult to find all the information that I want about companies or problems in industries. When watching these two documentaries I realised why. The reality is disturbing and even more horrible at times, than what we could imagine. I felt depressed to learn the truth, but also appreciative and I got new motivation towards more sustainable decision making. So if you are not too sensitive, I would recommend both of these documentaries. They are eye opening and informative, and I believe them to be important to see!

Sustainable documentaries - Racing Extinction - byLiiL

RACING EXTINCTION

This documentary’s main objective is the extinction of animals and how human’s are affecting it. Because of this reason, this documentary touches  a much wider problem. Why the animals are getting extinct, what is driving it and what are the possible effects of their extinction. In addition, it shows you the dirty secrets of different parts of the world.

This documentary is beautiful and moving. This documentary is depressing and at points, I felt like I was loosing the faith in mankind and over this world. I cried a fair amount. After watching the documentary and feeling sad for the world for like 15 minutes, I got new energy and motivation to become more sustainable and make a better decision.

Sustainable documentaries - True Cost - byLiiL

TRUE COST

It wasn’t too long ago when I wrote about this documentary ( you can read about it here), but I do think it is one to watch about the sustainability. It considers mainly fashion and textile industry, but it is relatable to other industries as well. It tells the many layers of the industry within the supply chain and the problems before and after the making of the garment. This documentary offered some advice on what people should do and, although, it was depressing I got a lot of motivation to be more sustainable.

Racing Extinction is available in the UK on Now TV, Amazon and iTunes, you can check more about it on their website. True Cost is available in the UK on Netflix, Amazon and iTunes and you can check more about it on their website.

 

Do you have advice for any other documentaries about sustainability?

Pics are from Racing Extinction and True Cost websites.

With love,

Lii

7 thoughts on “The Two Sustainable Documentaries to watch

  1. Thank you for sharing this. i haven’t watch these docs yet but I have watch similar ones before about a clothing brand and a restaurant i prefer not to mention. The information you learn from these documentaries are so shocking, even scary sometimes. If the information given in the documentary was completely honest it really makes you wonder how humans can do certain things.
    I still have to check the two you mentioned.
    xo
    Sauniya | Find Your Bliss ♡

    Like

    1. I agree, there is a dark side to humans, which is really scary! I think these documentaries are really good for the broader spectrum and not only to see how horribly things can be, but to understand things better so we can make a change 🙂

      Like

  2. I am a huge fan of watching documentaries so thank you so much for these suggestions. And as dark as humanity can be, remember, there are just as many people on the other side, for example, the documentary creators, who are trying to expose all the bad and make change.

    Rae | Love from Berlin

    Like

  3. I think more documentaries like this need to come out into the mainstream. The most important way in which we can force people to change their ways and make better choices if they are educated about the impact of their choices. Unfortunately, we do not have such an unbiased, free medium. Most such docs are obscure and watched by few.
    Thank you for sharing this, I will certainly watch them.

    Like

    1. Thank you Saurab for your comment. I agree, there should be more documentaries like this. True Cost did get a lot of publicity when it came out, but now it has died down. I am on the look out for more similar documentaries and will be sure to link them here when I find them! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

