Home decor recycling diy

I’ve talked quite a lot about my excitement for recycling and today I wanted to share one of my home decor items, which is recycled from my mother’s house. We had this beautiful crystal lamp in our house when I was still a young girl. I loved the little crystal cups in it because my mum used to hide easter eggs in them when we did our easter treasure hunt. Last time I visited my mum’s house, she told me part of the lamp had broken so it would need to be thrown out. We started to dismantle the lamp when we realise that we could save all the beautiful crystal pieces from it. What a joy!

I know these little cups or maybe they are bowls.. have a whole in the middle, however, I did not let it stop me. These cups have this beautiful rainbowy tint on them and a scalloped edge to make them interesting. They can work with many different colours and items in them, and they reflect light beautifully.

I experimented with using shells in it. I have a lot of shells that I’ve gathered from beaches or being given as a present that hadn’t found a place in my flat. I love them and the way they bring a little air of sea life into the house. But living with two cats, they really need to be in something. If left on their own on the shelf I will find them on the floor every single day. This blue pyramid shape made out of stone (no idea which stone) is a souvenir from my boyfriend when he was in Egypt. He bought it from a man on a mountain selling different shapes made out of stone. I completely adore this little pyramid! Although, not sure whether I like it on it’s own or in the bowl with the shells. Additionally, I added this freshwater pearl and Swarovski crystal bracelet, that I made but don’t really wear, to bring some extra sparkle. I seem to wear jewellery rarely, but I love it! So often I put it on display to decorate the rooms.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I really like how the bowl looks with the shells and the bracelet. Another idea that I could try as well is using it as a candle holder for those chunkier candles. Just need to remember to look after it, so it doesn’t crack the glass and it doesn’t burn through the hole.

 

Do you like reusing your old items in new ways?

With love,

Lii

Leave a Reply

