Inspiration of the week – inspiring women

Actually, my title is not really true. It is not an inspiration of the week, but rather one of the biggest inspirations in my life. Women. Or rather, strong women who stand for what they believe in, are brave and unapologetic. I could name here almost an endless number of women but I’ll start with few who have inspired me majorly or recently.

MalalaL

  • Emma Watson and her HeforSheย speech and the campaign as well as her aim to wear ethical and sustainable fashion when attending gala’s or events. Her quote: “If not me, then who? If not now, then when?” is like my mantra when even I am doubting myself. Sheย is like my mantra when even I am doubting myself. She has inspired me to be more active with my drive for the awareness of sustainability.
  • Malala Yousafzai for having the courage to stand up for other people and in front of a danger and for continually fighting for what she believes in! Education and educating girls are truly some of the important causes of this time.
  • Diane Fossey for never giving up on something she loved no matter how tough things got. For fighting money and greed!
  • Rosa Parks for making change happen and standing for what she believes in!
  • My mum who moved to a big city with no money and then to another country without knowing the language, at a time when people rarely moved out of their towns never mind countries. Every day I think if she could do this so can I.
  • My sister, who, although, had a lot of trouble during her studies stuck with it because it was something she really wants to do and is passionate about. Hard work will pay off!
  • J.K. Rowling for writing such an amazing book series, which made my childhood so much more imaginative and inspire me to keep writing.
  • Vivienne Westwood for making ongoing campaigns for the environmental issues, so that more of us were aware of them and making the change together.
  • Sophia Amoruso for writing a super inspiring book that every woman should read and feel empowered!
  • For all the women who stuck up for what they believed in and didn’t let negativity or cultural pressure suppress their goals.

REDL_SS13_1080-2-1024x681

If it wasn’t for inspiring women I never would have moved to study and live in another country. Worn lipstick and be confident wearing it. I would not have started this blog. I would not have the courage to speak publicly. I would not have been brave enough to be myself, to do what I want and love, and to care openly for causes and issues that I care about.

So an ode to women!

 

Who else finds strong women inspiring?

Pics are from Marie Claireย and Fashion pearls of wisdom.

With love,

Lii

4 thoughts on “Inspiration of the week – inspiring women

Leave a Reply

